India rope in rookie Negi, Shami for Asia Cup, T20 WC

Asia Cup, T20 WC

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), which held a selection committee meeting on Friday, has announced a 15-man squad for the upcoming Asia Cup and the T20 World Cup.

The BCCI, which has named the same squad for both events, named Mahendra Singh Dhoni as skipper of both squads.

Rookie left-arm spinner Pawan Negi and all-rounder Hardik Pandya have also been included in the squad.

Mohammed Shami, who was out of action since the 2015 ICC World Cup semi-final against Australia due to knee and hamstring injuries, has been recalled to the team.

The Asia Cup is slated to be held between February 24 to March 6, followed by the ICC World T20, starting from March 15 in India.

The squad is as follows: M S Dhoni (captain and wicketkeeper), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Harbhajan Singh, Mohammad Shami and Pawan Negi.